Books I Have Read This Year and the Reviews

Sorry, I haven’t posted y’all; between a broken finger, failing at trying to save a puppy from parvo, then the holidays have came and now I’m running around like a chicken with its head cut off. So this year I had made a goal for myself, to read at least 50 books. Well, I have read 32 of the 50 books and I only have….3 weeks left of this year….Yea I don’t think I’m going to be finishing my goal…OOPS!!!!

So these are the reviews of the books I have read this year. They are in no order just the first book off of my good reads list when I see them!!!!

Book #1: Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #1) By; Laurell K. Hamilton ***

** spoiler alert ** Vampires, Zombies and werewolves are now everyday knowledge and now are being made to get a green card. Anita Blake is the executioner, that is according to the vampires. Anita Blake is an animator who works alongside the boys in blue of St. Louis. After getting in to deep with an investigation that points to a serial killer whose M.O. is that of the living undead variety, Anita catches the attention of the Master vampires. One master vampire in particular helps her throughout the story even though he is not in the story for long.
My first thoughts when picking it up was that the cover was beautiful, reading the cover I thought well this is different. AND THAT IT WAS!!!! When I first started reading it I thought it was very similar to True Blood as far as Jean Claude’s club called Guilty Pleasures. Getting through the first half of the book I could not get over the Were rats and one of them making the comment of wanting to have his way with Anita. Could have gone all day without that visual!!!
I think that the book could have gone more in depth with what Jean Claude did to Anita in the beginning. There were a lot of holes where Mrs. Hamilton should have filled in and then where she did take the time to detail about the scene it was pointless and she spent to long on the scene. All in all, it was an ok book. I will be reading the others in the series just to see if it gets better throughout the books.

Book #2: Midnight Sun (Twilight 1.5) BY; Steohanie Meyer *

This book was the worst!!! I know it was only a draft but dear god that was like pulling eye teeth!!! There was no point to have this story if it wasn’t going to be more intuitive, she definitely should have finished it rather then throw a silent fit and get all butt hurt about it slipping through and being thrown on the internet!!! I would have finished it and held my head high and made it be a Kick @$$. She was very repetitive and Everywhere at one point she made my head hurt with Jacob popping up outta no where!!!! honestly, I would have read it again if she’d finish it!!!

Book #3- 16:Black Dagger brotherhood series By; J.R. Ward *****

Definitely my favorite series of the year!!! The characters were phenomenal, the plots are amazing!!! the Twists and turns holy cow!!!! this series will leave you on the edge of your seat and then will make you want to throw the book at the wall. I would definitely will recommend this book to anyone; male, female, gay, straight, Even the ladies at my church.. ok maybe not but y’all get the gist.

Book #17: Towering By; Alex Flinn **

I Really wanted to like but, the found interesting was the ending. Towering was a revision of Rapunzel with a modern twist  it. I can’t really remember this story because I had made my self read it for I loved Alex’s book Beastly before it was a movie.

 
Leave a Reply

