The 5th Wave.

** spoiler alert ** Ever Since my husband came home from work saying “I want to read the 5th Wave. Its about to be a movie and I think I really want to read it first.” I was Floored!!!! One my husband doesn’t read…EVER!!!! Sure he might read a post about some fishing technique or and article about guns but actually reading a fictional book; he had to be pulling my leg. So a month later you could probably think what I thought when my husband STILL talking about this book/movie. So I was like ‘OK, Valentine’s Day is coming up and I still need to get him a gift. Maybe I will get him this book.’ So I did. He was ecstatic, I asked him “OK where is my husband because it is obvious you were abducted by the body snatchers.” SO he reads it, at least the intro… :/ Now it is sitting in a box collecting dust….GREAT!!!
So months past we moved and I finally get around to it on my TBR List so I can get all my goal books of this year. I didn’t feel like moving boxes of Christmas Decorations and my boxes of books so I took the lazy route and grabbed it from the library. Later that day I finish the current book that I was reading and started on The 5th Wave. Let me tell you, Rick Yancey  had me hooked within the first chapter. I’m not one for a Dooms Day ANYTHING. But this book had EVERYTHING in it. action packed, Nail biting suspense, a Romeo and Juliet love connection and last but not least Extraterrestrials from another planet.
my favorite character in this book was Evan Walker. Evan Walker did have that “I’m Edward Cullen” thing going at the beginning and then the “I’ll be back” terminator mantra going at the end. He was every girls dream Chocolate brown eyes, and he told the protagonist of the book (Cassie) things to make your liver, quiver. 🙂 oh yea the down side to the perfect boyfriend was he is an alien…….
The best Scene(s) of the whole book in my opinion was when Evan called Cassie a Mayfly, I don’t know why but it was sweet. the other was the last bit when Camp Haven blew up into Smithereens. It was nail biting and on the edge of your seat will they make it out alive!!!! moments.
Least favorite Character was Vosch  for obvious reasons but he is by far the most menacing villain in any Young adult book since the Maximiun Ride Series by James Patterson. and I didn’t like Ringer, To no emotions. I know that is what the camp was doing to people but jeez if Rick would have told me that she had emotions before the Waves hit, I would have looked at him like he had three heads!!!!
The Saddest scene was when Cassie saw her brother for the first time since letting him (begrudgingly) get on that bus to the holocaust death camp.
Speaking of Death camps I did find some of the aspects of the story very similar to World War 2. For example, which kind of states the obvious; Camp Haven. Although The Nazis left the Jewish to sit there and waste away, Camp Haven trained the children how to be lean mean cold hearted killing machines (Ringer for example). Another example is how the people left over from the 3rd wave migrated together and hid out like in the movie Defiance with Liev  Schreiber. I think this was why I really got into this book because I could see World War 2 playing a big role (these are only two of the examples that I saw.)
Rick Yancey’s  writing reminded me of James Patterson’s with the Maximum Ride series. Short chapters, multiple point of views but mainly the lead character. I loved how there was no small character like sure Cassie is the main character but, in their own way they were all main characters; Even the Drill Sargent.
Things that I didn’t like about the book was, The symbolism of the Silver Cord and the circle of things. Where used way to much in my opinion. With that said how he used the symbolism I liked. Zombie’s sister’s necklace, a bullet from the gun all symbolizing a circle or Silver Cord.
All in all, this book was Phenomenal!!!! I can’t wait to read more and see what happens now and if they find each other. 

Leave a Reply

